If any man shall add unto these things…

18 For I testify unto every man that heareth the words of the prophecy of this book, If any man shall add unto these things, God shall add unto him the plagues that are written in this book:
19 And if any man shall take away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part out of the book of life, and out of the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.

– Revelation 22: 18-19

Rather than studying and taking heed to the warnings of Jesus in His letters to the seven churches in the book of Revelation, some Mennonite church leaders have instead changed them and re-written their own versions. Is the Bible not specific or thorough enough for the Mennonites? Is God not feared enough? Could it be that maybe they have not read to the end of the Bible? For if they had read and heeded the sober warnings in Revelation 22 about changing the words of the prophecy of this book, would these replacement letters have been published in the June 2011 MB Herald?

These four admonitions were modelled after the letters to the churches in Revelation 2–3 given to delegates at the 2011 B.C. MB convention, “Hearing the Spirit speak to the BCMB churches,” Apr. 29–30.
Read here:
To the angel of the church…
http://www.mbconf.ca/home/products_and_services/resources/publications/mb_herald/june_2011/features/pemberton/

3 thoughts on “If any man shall add unto these things…

  1. Wow. I’m confused. Those letters have some pretty scalding critiques in them, as well as some pretty interesting encouragements.

    So is it making a negative judgment about a church to say the following to a church?

    1. “You borrow against my plans for your tomorrows to fill your homes today ” (to Pemberton, which sounds a lot like accusations of materialism)

    2. “whether you have much or little, entrust it to me, and demonstrate your faith with your actions. Don’t short-change me” (to Urban Journey, which sounds like accusations of hypocrisy)

    3. “Sometimes I fear you have, as someone has said, leaned over so far to accommodate the world that you have fallen in” (to Fraserview, which sounds like apostasy)

    4. “you are trusting technique instead of the movement and whispers of my Spirit” (to Jericho Ridge, which sounds also like apostasy)

    If I said that any specific church wasn’t following the spirit or was using God’s money to pad their own homes, people would call me out and slander me publically. I say that because I HAVE said similar things in the past and I have been publically slandered for it. So why do certain people get applauded when saying such things and other people get lambasted? I’m actually wondering if there even IS an answer to that question!

  2. Sorry. This was confusing me so much. So the pastors of those churches wrote letters both applauding and rebuking their churches for things…and I’m guessing that is why people may say that they have the “right’ to do that…but don’t scalding remarks end up being ultimately judgments of those whose job it is to shepherd those churches?

    If I say to the church that I pastor “You guys are bad at ‘X’ “, that’s also an implicit self admittance that “I haven’t taught you how to do ‘X’ well enough” or “I haven’t modellled what ‘X’ looks like to the point that you get it.”

    Also, Paul, Rebecca, Dan and Brad write in first person, as if they’re speaking for God. Is that simply some sort of bizarre artistic license or something, or do any of these people actually think they’re somehow prophets or functioning in ANY sort of prophetic way?

    Is that an IMHO masquerading as PBUH? Please tell me that it is.

    I cannot even imagine writing a letter in ‘divine first person’ that says things like “I am the One Who Saves you”, even as a joke…and I joke about a LOT of things that I probably should not.

    I’m just do confused and bothered by those letters.

    Why did I come to this blog to see what was up?

    CURSES! *fist shake*

    • Hi Mennoknight,

      It is bizarre that they would choose to write in the first person, as if they are speaking for God. You have good reason to be confused, but at least you can see that something is wrong. Unfortunately, the people attending these churches and reading these letters in the MB Herald are probably confused but don’t realize it. The reason you come to this blog to see what’s up is because you are probably concerned about the nice (but confused) people you left behind.

Leave a Reply

